Faith In Album Of The Year

Faith In Album Of The Year

Last time we heard from Faith No More, it was 1995 and the band seemed frighteningly close to collapse. They'd just released the excellent (but patchy by their own standards) King for a Day, Fool For a Lifetime, their first album following the departure of guitarist Jim Martin, and the result was some fairly uninspired metallic riffing by fill-in guitarist, Mr Bungle's Trey Spruance.

Now Faith No More is back again, with another new guitarist and a new album. Touring guitarist Dean Menta has shot through and a friend of the band, named John Hudson, has taken his place. The album, optimistically titled Album Of The Year, is due for release the first week of June.

Album Of The Year, a 15-song effort, was recorded at bass player Billy Gould's home studio in San Francisco over the past few months. A source states, "It's not a departure in any way from the Faith No More sound, but it's what you wanted from them in the Angel Dust period after The Real Thing."

The source was, of course, referring to the 1989 album that brought the band their greatest success due to the anthemic hit Epic, and its subsequent video, which vocalist Mike Patton has been trying to live down ever since.

"Surprisingly awesome" is how some have described Album Of The Year and, from what their Australian label Polydor has allowed us to hear, we can only agree. The album marks a return of the heavy guitar, 'funky' bass and crashing drums that was Faith No More's trademark sound.

The far-flung band, who are rarely on the same continent, not to mention in the same city together, are currently scattered about, with singer Mike Patton resting at his home in Italy, keyboardist Roddy Bottum in San Francisco's Bay Area, still very busy with his other band, Imperial Teen, and Billy Gould travelling in Russia. They plan to re-group in May for a string of 10 European shows. That short hop will be followed by a US tour in July and August.

The first Australian single is slated to be Last Cup Of Sorrow, and the rest of the tracks are: Collision, Stripsearch, Naked In Front Of The Computer, Helpless, Mouth To Mouth, Ashes To Ashes, She Loves Me Not, Got That Feeling, Path Of Glory, Home Sick Home, Pristina, The Big Kahuna and Light Up And Let Go.

Thanks to Scott McNabb.

Source: Scott McNabb
© 1995-2001,2011-2012 Stefan Negele